Chimney Inspection and Flue Plotting

As an essential service, we can arrange for a chimney flue inspection to ensure you’re free from issues, and if any are found, they can be resolved quickly. Discover more about chimney inspections at SEM facilities and enquire today.

27+

Years Of Expert Experience in Chimney and Flue Inspection.

50+

Clients Worked With, Receiving A High-Quality Service.

5+

Industry Accreditations

12+

Counties Covered Across the UK By CCTV Chimney Inspection.

Recently Completed Projects

AT SEM Facilities, we understand portfolios have the power to provide peace of mind. Browse our range of recently completed projects and find examples of our excellent work, below!

25 September 2023

Thorney Court

27 July 2023

Gas System Purge in Salisbury

7 June 2023

West London High School

1 June 2020

Islington Council for Woodside Contract Services

1 June 2020

University for the Creative Arts

1 June 2020

Samsung SDS Headquarters, Weybridge Surrey

2 May 2020

IQ Student Accommodation

4 October 2019

Arkle – No. 6 Buckingham Gate

7 July 2019

London Management Company – Rutland Gate

CCTV Chimney inspection

Arrange For Expert Chimney Camera Inspection

With an increasing demand for traditional over modern properties and the use of smokeless coal and wood-burning stoves, the activity of ‘opening up the flue’ can be fraught with problems. What may seem like a simple process to use your chimney, may quickly become an issue without professional help and maintenance – that’s where we can help with an efficient chimney camera inspection using the latest innovative technology. At SEM facilities, we have quickly responded to the increasing demand by investing in ‘high end’ chimney inspection and flue plotting equipment, which enables us to diagnose and record chimney problems quickly and accurately.

The camera is passed up and down the flue to identify internal flue dimensions and any signs of chimney problems which could be causing leakage or blockage. The camera used in our CCTV chimney inspection is extremely manoeuvrable with full rotation, and has 28m of cable to inspect the highest of chimneys, and up to 250mm flue diameter. It even has 12 white LEDs around the lens for illumination. We are then able to advise on the best solution to any chimney flue problems we discover. The images are displayed on our TFT monitor and we supply a copy of the CCTV chimney inspection on DVD along with a written report on the condition of the flue at the time of the inspection.

Industry Leading Services & Solutions

We have a range of gas and heating services you can arrange that will ensure your facilities are safe and maintained to the highest standards. Discover more about each service we have available, and get a quote today.

Client Testimonials

SEM Facilities have been on our approved suppliers list for many years, and have carried out all aspects of Gas related works on our mobile portfolio to a professional high standard.

We have always found SEM to be reliable, trustworthy and extremely obliging, they work to our company processes and are flexible to the working situations.

Gerry Connoly

INTEGRAL UK LTD

All of us at Porters are very grateful for your prompt attention to our boiler room breakdown. We were almost at the point of evacuating the building until your guys turned up at the door as arranged. As it turned out (despite our panic) the problem was relatively minor and you charged accordingly. Your billing reflected the fact and your honesty is to be commended.

Jon Porter

PORTER INDUSTRIAL CONTROLS

As an FM company we at IQPS strive to use high quality and efficient engineers. SEM Facilities have proved to be a call above the rest with their extensive knowledge of all systems irrelevant of size or age.

Their happy and confident approach to tacked anything we throw at them fills us and our clients with great confidence. Keep up the good work from all of us at IQPS.

Toby Ford

IQ PROPERTY SERVICES

I can confirm our company has employed SEM over many years covering aspects of Gas and heating on contracts ranging in scale from a few thousand pounds up to £250,000. We continue to retain their services as we have found that their standard of works and professionalism is second to none.

We would have no hesitation in recommending them if you have any Gas or heating projects where a very high standard of workmanship is required.

John Putnam

Opus Facilities ltd

As contract manager for M and E across 4 University sites, I have struggled to find a reliable contractor to maintain the combustion plant. A colleague of mine recommended Surrey Environmental Maintenance to me 4 years ago and I haven't had a need to go elsewhere. I have found them to be professional and technically capable. Quoting and administration is quick and proficient. Always happy to respond to urgent calls, giving time scales and great advice as required.

The most important thing is their honesty, if they cannot do something, they will tell you.

John Holcroft

MITIE

Chimney Inspection FAQs

Whether you are seeking information about chimney inspection services, looking for expert advice, or have common questions, our chimney inspection FAQ guide is specifically designed to provide you with the necessary information.

Every chimney inspection has different requirements, such as the number of chimneys per property to assess. It involves a thorough examination of the chimney structure to assess its condition, identify any defects or damage, and determine if it complies with safety regulations. When contacting us to arrange this, we will provide an estimate of the chimney inspection cost. Please contact us today for a quote.

Many different types of chimney problems can arise, so being aware of certain signs can indicate if you require our services to investigate further. Some may be more obvious than others, but part of the inspection will look for potential signs of chimney problems that need to be addressed before they get any worse. Signs of chimney flue problems can include, but are not limited to:

  • Damaged or cracked masonry – you may notice visible cracks, flaking or chipping in bricks and mortar.
  • Leaks or water stains – these may be visible on the wall or ceiling near to the chimney.
  • Smoke inside the room – smoke being unable to vent properly through the chimney when used.
  • Foul odour – a strong smell coming from the chimney, indicating a build-up of creosote or even a trapped/decaying animal.
  • Poor drafting during use – if smoke doesn’t rise properly up the flue.

If any of these sound familiar, then it’s best to arrange a chimney inspection to look into the issues and discover the cause. We’ll help by investigating and providing a resolution to any problems found, so you can continue using your chimney normally.

During the inspection, we’ll check both the interior and exterior of the chimney, looking for any issues such as cracks, leaks, blockages, or deterioration. Using CCTV camera equipment, we’ll assess the chimney’s integrity and functionality and get a good look at the problem internally. Flue Plotting will determine the efficiency and suitability of the chimney’s flue system to ensure proper drafting and ventilation. We’ll measure the dimensions of the flue, including its cross-sectional area, height, and location. Improper flue sizing can lead to inefficient venting, potential back drafting, or the release of harmful gases into the room.

Regularly maintaining your property’s chimneys through inspection can ensure you identify any potential hazards or inefficiencies before they become a bigger problem. Regular inspections are particularly important for maintaining the safety and functionality of chimneys, reducing the risk of fires, carbon monoxide poisoning, or structural damage.